The truth about society

In society, we are taught that most things if not all things should have labels or titles. Such as job titles, relationship titles, etc. I’ve had a few realizations about society this year that I would like to share with you. The first thing is that I feel that society has brainwashed us, the people, to push us away from truly being able to enjoy life. Society has created many man-made things that make us believe that we need those things to be happy such as name brands, money, social media, smartphones with little tweaks each year, and many more. Society has also taught us that for everything out there, there’s an underlying reason for why it is what it is. Not only has society taught us this but I believe naturally as humans we also feel this as well and it’s called hope. Having hope gives people a reason to believe which therefore results in reassurance. I think this is why people have brought religion into their lives. My parents weren’t religious before I went to Taiwan but when I went back one summer, they were all of a sudden devout Christians. When I asked my mom why, she said that they needed a hope and reason to believe in me and for why that is, is a story for another time.

Anyways back to what I was saying, I am not religious but before you start calling me an atheist just hear me out. I believe that all religions essentially are the same, just different perspectives about a higher being that may have a path set out for us in this world. I believe that we are actually our own gods haha and before you guys start saying “that’s fucked up” to say that us ordinary people are comparable to higher beings, just hear me out. People always wonder where people come from or where all this mother nature comes from or why certain things happen. But what people don’t realize is how powerful and magical humans are. We literally are able to create other humans and we naturally just grow bigger. We may know what aids in the process like what foods to eat or what immunizations we need to stay alive or anything else but in the end we all do naturally grow. Whether it be physical or emotional it kind of just happens. Also, when people pray, to me, it seems as if they are just talking to themselves and then with this hope that someone is listening, it’s kind of like a form of self motivation. The reason why certain things may happen the way you plan it, could be that each thing/action/person already had a set plan and it/they were just following it and sometimes things/events/people’s plans just collide, kind of like a coincidence. But because that event occurred according to your plan , it strengthens your reason to believe in fate. Another reason why I believe that we are our own gods is because we are all born with the ability to have our own ideas. A brain alone or a heart or bones when taken out separately don’t create ideas or the soul. Or maybe the brain does, I just don’t have enough medical knowledge to understand it. The soul is sort of like an unexplainable being in each and everyone of us. That’s why I believe that all people are created equal. It is society that brainwashes us to believe that it is not this way. You were unable to pick where you were born, how you looked before you came into this world or how much intelligence you had yet these are all reasons why you are compared in society today. The reason why I believe that many people agree that there are more important things than money in this world is because money is just paper with no value until you bring it out into the world. Money as an object holds no standard value not like the type of value a friendship or family holds. I also believe that the justice system is flawed because all the laws were made by men or women with opinions about what’s right and wrong. The fact that people with certain job titles like judges or the jury or lawyers or anyone with power, can determine someone else’s life is just wild. But that is something I know nothing of so I’ll just leave it at that. Our society is based around opinions and I think it’s somewhat falling apart due to the fact. Like a great friend of mine once told me, “Wake up, don’t be a slave”.

About Kevin Lin

Born in Flushing, NY in 1992 and raised in Long Island, NY until the age of 19. Dropped everything and went to Taiwan to change my life. This blog is a collection of thoughts and stories that go with me everywhere I go.

Leave a comment